Marsh's Library is to receive €400,000 in capital funding from the Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs to ensure the protection of this unique and irreplaceable collection of 25,000 books, dating from the 17th and 18th centuries and before. The grant aid will go towards measures including damp proofing and the provision of a misting fire-prevention system.
Marsh's Library was founded in the early eighteenth century by Archbishop Narcissus Marsh (1638-1713). Designed by Sir William Robinson (d.1712) the Surveyor General of Ireland, it is one of the very few 18th century buildings left in Dublin that is still being used for its original purpose. Many of the collections in the Library are still kept on the shelves allocated to them by Marsh and by Elias Bouhéreau, the first librarian, when the Library was opened.
Click here to visit Marsh's Library website.