Saturday 15 May. Visits to Down County Museum, Down Cathedral and the F. E. McWilliam Studio and Gallery. IMA Members are welcome to bring a guest. There is a bus from Dublin, leaving at 9:30am and the fare is €15/£12 for IMA Members or €20/£17 for non-members. Lunch will be provided by Down County Museum. Booking is essential as numbers are limited. Contact Ms Carla Marrinan to reserve a place, to email click here.
Down County Museum is located in the historic buildings of the eighteenth century County Gaol of Down. In addition to walking through the restored complex complete with cells, visitors can learn more about 9000 years of human history in County Down in the newly launched exhibitions Down Through Time.
Down Cathedral is close to the burial place of St. Patrick. The earliest parts of the building date from 1220 AD with major restoration in 1790-1829 and recent work in 1986-7.
F.E. McWilliam Studio and Gallery opened in Banbridge in September 2008 and is dedicated to the memory of Banbridge-born sculptor Frederick Edward McWilliam, one of Ireland's most influential and successful artists.