No 5 was built by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans for the improvement of the City of Armagh. Built in 1772 as the Diocesan Registry to hold records for the Church of Ireland and the Armagh Diocese, its octagonal rooms contained many public as well as Church records. While the records are no longer retained in the building, some examples are on display with ancient coins, gems, significant prints, early Christian artefacts and other collections and curiosities from Armagh Public Library.
Following major restoration work, the museum opened to the public in 2011, and enables the public to see much more of the Library's collections. Advice and information can be provided to those who wish to carry out more in-depth research of the archives, many of which are contained in Armagh Public Library. Displays include copies of maps and timelines that illustrate early settlement patterns in Armagh. Younger visitors can make use of the activity sheets to write their names in Ogham, the earliest form of Irish. They can also handle replicas of old coins, answer the quiz questions, have fun rubbing outlines of medals and ancient bronze objects and try the jig-saws of old prints.
No. 5 Vicars’ Hill, Armagh,
|Telephone:||+44 28 3752 3142|
|Fax:||+44 28 3752 4177|
|Opening Times:||Tue-Sat 10:00-13:00, 14:00-16:00, Admission Charge|