Sligo County Museum opened to the public in 1955 when the former Manse building was converted. The adjoining Presbyterian church now houses Sligo Library and both are located in the heart of charming Sligo Town.
The Museum's collections are divided between the Yeats collection, consisting of a selection of photographs, print, artefacts and memorabilia; and a collection of artefacts and memorabilia associated with Countess Markievicz and her sister, Eva Goore Booth. There is also an accumulation of local artefacts and geological samples.
One of the more unusual local artefacts is a firkin an old English measure) of preserved bog butter.
Stephen Street, Sligo, Co. Sligo, Ireland
|Telephone:||+353 (0) 71 9141623|
|Fax:||+353 (0) 71 9146798|
|Opening Times:||Open all year. May – Sep: Tue – Sat: 9.30 – 12.30, 14.00 – 16.45. Oct – Apr: Tue – Sat: 9.30 – 12.30. Admission is free.|